Why I Write in a Running Journal (And Some of My Favorite Moments)

According to my Runkeeper, I have 341 activities logged on my account. Those activities include my running, hiking, walking, kick boxing, other cardio… yoga… etc. I don’t remember every single one of those. I can look back at the statistics in my account and review my pace, my mileage, my time, etc. But I can’t look back and remember how those runs felt.

I write in a running journal because keeping track of the feelings along with the raw data is important to me. I don’t want to just see that I ran 2.5 miles in X amount of time. I want to see that I ran 2.54 miles in thirty-four minutes. I want to know that my legs were still stiff from the 10k I ran the following weekend. I’m interested in the fact that I watched “Blindspot” while running those 2.5 miles on the treadmill. I like looking back and seeing notations such as “Didn’t get my run in today. Went out with drinks with M instead. Will run tomorrow instead”.

The other day, one of the members in the Sub30 Women’s group wrote a post requesting inspiration for her own running journal. I flipped through my pages, snapped a couple of pictures and shared them with her. It made me stop and flip through the pages for a moment. At this moment, I have a week and a half of running log pages left. A nice, clean, brand new copy of this journal is sitting at home ready for me to log the first run into it.

For now, I wanted to take a look back and show you some of the notes I jot into my journal about run-of-the-mill runs, injuries and races. Hopefully you’ll find it inspirational. If not, maybe it will be an interesting look into the way I log some of my most important moments!

FullSizeRender
Springtime Tallahassee 10K, March 28, 2015

I PR’ed this distance and was positively jubilant after running this course. I had worked the night before and had trained very little for this race. In fact, I signed up for it on a whim because I really liked the 40th anniversary finishers’ medals! I noted my favorite aspects of this race and also jotted down my time.

FullSizeRender (1)
Memorial Day Night Race, Bainbridge, GA May 25, 2015

I first ran this race in 2014. I placed in my age group during that race, as well (F20-24). This race is a fairly small one but an important one to me. I noted the conditions and expressed pride in myself for running it “faster” than I had been running the 5K distance at that point. Unfortunately, this year I am probably going to miss this race but will be back in 2017.

FullSizeRender (2)
Freedom Run 5k, June 27, 2015

I first started running at my best friend’s suggestion. 2015 marked two years since that moment! I started with the Couch25K program and now I’m running 10Ks on a whim. I noted my stats and how the run felt. Looking at this log, I can almost feel my feet on the trails winding outside of Wakulla Springs.

IMG_1724
I would really love to remember why thinking about picking up a pack of underwear happened. :O

Running isn’t always serious business for me. To get through those long long runs… you have to have a sense of humor. Flipping through my journal, I got a chuckle at this note from my 11-miler.

FullSizeRender (3)

FullSizeRender (4)

I sprained my ankle midway through my marathon training cycle. I remember that September run where I really knew something was wrong with my ankle. Every time my foot struck the sidewalk, searing pain shot into my ankle. I had a hard time putting weight on it and had to get my husband to help me up the stairs when I got home. The next morning, my hubby took me to the ER. I was told I probably had some type of sprain and needed to stay off of it as much as possible over the next few weeks. I was very upset – a few weeks felt like ages when looking at my training calendar.

FullSizeRender (5)
First long run post-injury! (October 16, 2015)

I took a little over two weeks off from running. I probably returned a little too quickly. When I did return, I made sure to take it easy.

FullSizeRender (6)
19 miles… ON A TREADMILL?!?

Until here lately, I have viewed running on a treadmill as being close to torture. I typically get bored due to the unchanging environment and can’t stomach being on one for more than an hour. I view running the WDW Full Marathon as my biggest achievement for the 2015-2016 running “season”. This long run is a pretty close second to that!

FullSizeRender (7)
41st Annual Springtime Tallahassee 10k, April 2, 2016

And so we come full circle (yes, I also signed up for this year’s Springtime on a whim).

Not every memory is a good one. Not every run was a PR. Not every note is even about running. But these are moments that I will be able to look back on. I’ll be able to smile and think, “Yes… yes I remember that run where I pondered picking up a pack of underwear.”

 

One thought on “Why I Write in a Running Journal (And Some of My Favorite Moments)”

  1. I used to use my blog as a log, but then it became redundant to readers so I stopped. Now I wish I hadn’t so I could have the details to review. So I’m going back to weekly recaps, more for myself than anyone else, and that’s really motivating. I wish I could journal by hand…I just get bored and unfocused! I like my journals fresh and untouched; I collect empty ones haha!

Leave a Reply

